Make your own free website on


The Mughals were a Muslim dynasty of India founded in 1526 by BABUR, a descendant of both GENGHIS KHAN and TIMUR. The dynasty ruled much of the Indian subcontinent until the mid-18th century. The word Mogul is the Arabic and Persian version of Mughal.

Babur, who reigned until 1530, was a man of culture as well as a military genius. After defeating the last Lodi king of the DELHI SULTANATE, Babur established a policy of tolerance toward his Hindu subjects, although he disliked India. His son, HUMAYUN, spent most of his reign (1530-40; 1555-56) attempting to consolidate Mogul rule over Babur's conquests. Humayun's son AKBAR (r. 1556-1605) laid a firm basis for the administration of the vast Mogul domain, which he also extended further. Akbar and his successors, JAHANGIR (r. 1605-27), SHAH JAHAN (r. 1627-58), and AURANGZEB (r. 1658-1707), are generally considered to be one of the finest groups of kings that ever ruled in succession over such a long period.

Although the Moguls remained on the throne until 1858, their territory began to contract after 1707, and they eventually became mere puppets of the British. Following the INDIAN MUTINY of 1857, the British exiled the last Mogul emperor, Bahadur Shah II (1775-1862; r. 1837-58). The Moguls' main legacy to India consisted of an administrative machine, land tenure patterns, and a system of revenue collection, all of which have proved remarkably durable. In addition, the magnificent Mogul art and architecture have had a lasting impact on Indian styles. Architecture & Art

Mughal Rulers

-Babur -Humanyun -Akbar -Jahangir ~Shah Jahan ~Shah Jahan